Uncategorized

Alikay Naturals Review

You win some, you lose some. And with this line, I won some, and I lost some.no need for fluff though, lets get started. 

The Alikay products I am reviewing are the honey sage deep conditioner, the cowash me clean cleanser, the Lemongrass leave in, and the Knots be gone detangler. 

Each product is 8oz, and has been tested 1-4 times.

I’m going to start with the best: the honey sage conditioner. Created by combining angel tears and unicorn smiles. To borrow my mother’s favorite old fashioned outdated colloquialism, Alikay “put her foot in this.” The smell is heavenly and makes you want to deep conditioner all day.

Initially, I had a good feeling about this one. Between the raving reviews and smiling naturalistas, I had high expectations, and it did not disappoint. This deep conditioner is creamy and thick, but spreads through the hair with ease. This thickness also aided in the detangling, which personally I think in important with a deep conditioner. I left in in for maybe 3 hours before rinsing it out. The rinse out was fairly easy, leaving no residue or necessary gentlensrapping of the scalp to make sure I got it all out. I just put my head under the spray and watched it rinse away. I detangled a bit during the rinsing and as the DC rinsed out my strands it continued to help with detangling. My curls looked so beautiful, my strands felt super hydrated and soft to the touch. Even with split ends and fairy knots my ends held onto that pillow like softness. Needless to say I was extremely impressed.

Now the con. The same con I usually come across with miracle products. Quantity vs. Price. This is a small…SMALL 8oz jar. It wasn’t filled to the brim either which slightly irked me. For $16.00 I would have loved to get more, so that I would receive more than 1 1/2 washes. But I guess unicorn smiles ain’t cheap.

Overall I give it a solid 8.8/10. It won’t be a staple for me, as my monthly budget to deep conditioner ratio is in no way set up to support a splurge like this weekly or bi-weekly. However, there is a gallon size on their website that is $205. So is it on my black Friday radar? Absolutely.

Now the Lemongrass leave in conditioner. I had high hopes for this one too. Many naturalistas of varying textures have toted this as one of their staples. However, I guess it’s just not meant for my hair. It as a slightly deceiving appearance. At first glance, it looks a bit creamy, but it is completely watery. And while my hair soaked it in like a sponge, I think it was a bit too watery for my hair. My hair smelt great! But it did not help detangle like other leave in have, and the moisture was gone in a day, sealed or unsealed. That bummed me out. Also, this product seemed to go extreme quickly for me. Creamier leave ins last me a month to two months. I used half the bottle with one use! I am aware I’m a bit heavyhanded, but I’m heavy handed with everything and it still lasts. All in all, I just wasn’t impressed. 6/10

With the leave in leaving much to be desired, I tried the “knots be gone” detangling spray since it said it could also be used as a leave in. It did its job. But, still, too watery. My hair loooves water. It soaks in and swallows every drop and it soaked in every drop, and before I could finish detangling, it would dry into my hair and I had to use more. This product definitely stretched longer than the lemongrass, and did what it claimed to do. The con is the pump broke after three sprays so I had to use it my pouring it out into my hand, So I’ll give it a 7/10. I wasn’t entirely crazy about it, but it did exactly what it said it would do and it did it well.

Last but not least was the cowash me clean

 After all my experiments, of course I had to cowash it away. I’ll be brief. It cleansed my scalp and hair yes, but my hair did feel a bit stripped compared to how it feels after other cowashes. It did say it is a replacer for conditioner and shampoo, so perhaps that is why. The slip was minimal which is a no for me in the cowash department. 6/10.

 

So all in all, only one item from Alikay that I may consider repurchase Nguyen. I’m glad I got to try this line though! Now I know exactly who to go to for an amazing deep conditioner!

Leave a Reply

